That is Amazing (WoW)!

Things that interest me. Mostly video games.

DPS Meme

I love memes, not because they inspire truly thought provoking blog content, but for two other very important reasons.

  1. 1) They link the blogging community together and create a webring of sorts.
  2. 2) I don’t have to come up with original content, I just answer some questions. This last couple weeks have been crazy with work and kid sickness…so good timing Zarii, otherwise there would probably not be a post today.

On a lighter note, I should be back to my normal posting schedule next week. The kid is done with whatever nastiness she had, and I am finally getting caught up from the week I had to take off work to take care of her.

So…Inward and onward to the Meme!!

Started over at http://dkdeathgoddess.blogspot.com/ and I was tagged by Karii  over at Zarii and Me.

What is the name, class, and spec of your primary dps?

Sfcnez, Hunter, Survival (/cry).

What is your primary dpsing environment? (i.e. raids, pvp, 5 mans)

Primarily 10 mans with the occasional 25 thrown in, I don’t have a lot of time to PUG 5 mans so I only do those sporadically.

What is your favorite dps spell/ability for your class and why?

There is a lot of synergy with the SV class. Explosive shot is more powerful with Black Arrow, Steady shot is more powerful with serpent sting (serpent sting crits now FTW ! ❤ 2 piece T9). I am going to have to say the combination, when factors are right of Lock and Load/Sniper Training/Explosive Shot damage starts cranking when you are doing all that correctly.

What dps spell do you use least for your class and why?

Not being a PVP guy usually, I will say… Wing Clip. It just sits there. When I am chain dueling to master my skills, it gets used, but that is pretty infrequent. Oh, this says DPS spell…well in SV spec Arcane Shot never gets used, so that one. In BM it is Aimed shot, but I haven’t been specced BM in so long, I cannot remember why I did not spec into it.

What do you feel is the biggest strength of your dps class and why?

We provide Strudels…I am jsut kidding, though I did provide some strudels to our healer last night, but that is OT. I just happened to have some in my bag. Later on I also resurected someone with my gnomish army knife. Talk about utility.

Seriously though, we are decent at CC even though it is not used so much anym0re. A well played SV will destroy a target with great burst damage. Currently two of our top three damage producing raiders in my guild are SV hunters. So I will say damage is the biggest strength.

What do you feel is the biggest weakness of your dps class and why?

The obvious answer is melee damage. For the most part, it is easy to avoid needing to do it, but when it comes up, it is pitiful. Really, though for what we do, we do well. Ranged DPS.

In a 25 man raiding environment, what do you feel, in general, is the best dps assignment for you?

oooh, really this is situation dependant…Ony? Keep Black arrow/Serpent Sting up and help with elites. VoA, Spam shot priority and stay out of shit you aren’t supposed to stand in.

What dps class do you enjoy dpsing with most and why?

Probably shaman…Bloodlust drives my damage done through the roof. Pallys in general for kings (OMG KINGS RAGE).

What tanking class do you enjoy dpsing with least and why?

I like them all, all three of our rotating tanks in our 10/25 content are warriors and they are great. I haven’t really been with a DK or Pally tank in a while. Though at one point out DPS DK had to turn on Frost presense for an emergency pick up, he did ok, but…well he is not a tank. I think maybe Druid tank, just because I rarely see them anymore.

What is your worst habit as a dps?

My tendency to watch the GCD and CD timers on my shots and mouse click instead of keybind. Those two things combined slow me down some I think.

What is your biggest pet peeve in a group environment while dpsing?

I really don’t mind wipes if we are progressing, but when we are continually wiping because of the same mistakes, I get irritated.

Do you feel that your class/spec is well balanced with other dps?

Yes.

What tools do you use to evaluate your own performance as a damage dealer?

Recount. Though to keep myself from being a DPS whore, I keep it from showing during combat. I do a quick peek in between encounters to check it out, so I can see if I am missing something rediculous. I usually use it though to compare the shot by shot damage done with the other hunter I raid with. This helps me adjust after the raid my stats if need be. For example for a long time My steady shot was doing more damage than my explosive shot, whereas his was the other way around. This enticed me to talk to him, we looked over gear and found I had been stacking the wrong gem. (+agi FTW BTW) Recount is what parsed that together for me and made me ask the question.

What do you think is the biggest misconception people have about your class?

Hunters are not facerolllol anymore. There is a lot of shot prioritization that goes on. Also, we are not all Huntards.

What do you feel is the most difficult thing for new dpsers of your class to learn?

Proper shot prioritization, how not to pull aggro, and most importantly, don’t clip the last tick of your Explosive Shot. That last one actually takes some practice.

What dps class do you feel you understand least?

I have an 80 Warlock that I just can’t seem to slam dps out of. It really frustrates me, since I loved gringing levels with it throughout the leveling process. I think it is because I use her as a fancy alchemist more than a raider. It is sad. Poor thing. I have played I think all of the DPS classes to at least level 20 I like melee, just havent hit 80 with one. Though my healing druid will love having a feral spec once i make a little more gold.

What add-ons or macros do you use, if any, to aid you in dps?

to aid in DPS? Power Auras to tell me when my black arrow and Serpent sting expire or are dispelled, and Mics Scrolling Battle Text to tell me when Lock and Load procs.

The only Macro I use is my opening send in pet, cast hunter’s mark, start auto shot macro. Everything else is old fashioned.

And while it does not assist with DPS, I love Spartan UI.

Strength over other stats or balanced stat allocation, and why?

Agi, Agi, Agi…can’t have too much.

Tag!

I choose REPGRIND and RtD.

November 12, 2009 - Posted by | Hunter, Meme, World of Warcraft, WoW

1 Comment »

  1. […] and was adjusted by Hine over at Death Goddess to get DPSers in on the fun. Some smart guy at That is Amazing (Wow)!  tagged me to give me something to do at work today. […]

    Pingback by DPS Meme « Reputation Grind | November 17, 2009


Leave a Reply

