That is Amazing (WoW)!

Things that interest me. Mostly video games.

Mimiron is a bitch

I posted once about going in to fight 10 Mimiron. I am pretty sure I told you a successful story about me getting my Tier 8 Helm. It was a good story.

Fast forward several weeks/months. I have stopped and started raiding again. I am loving it. I pug with the same group every week (does that qualify as a PUG?). We all do pretty decent DPS, top 3 (yours truly included :P) push really close to 4k through all the fights (not the best ever, but defintely not bad), and the rest of the DPS is in the low-mid 3k range very consistently.

We can clear FL, XT, Razordouche, and ignis the raging hemmorhoid in about 45 minutes, Kolo is a joke, and Thorim, Hodir, Freya, crazy cat lady are now old news for us. This week was our first attempt at Mim. I expected a couple wipes. But we have been raiding together for about a month now three or four times each week, so we know eachother and our capabilities, plus I kind of like the bastards. I expected a killed Mim. About 3 hours and who knows how much gold later we called it and decided to try again on Sunday.

It was GREAT raiding, don’t get me wrong, I loved watching us as a group progress from wiping on phase 1 to wiping on phase 2 to almost killing the guy in phase 4. We just could not get him down.

Let me clarify, I am in no way upset, just a little astounded that I was able to down him as a straight PUG, and was unable to in a group who does better DPS, is smarter and has raided together several times. No worries though, Sunday will find Mimiron dead and then we will at least be able to look at General fuck head and maybe the other douche and I really hope I get to make out with Sarah.

So…a quandry I am percolating through right now…

I have a level 80 Warlock (not mage), she is completely decked out it iLevel 200 gear from Naxx10 and I think some crafted stuff.  I do not have time to raid 2 raid IDs each week. I am seriously considering running through the first 4 or so bosses of Ulduar on her, then switch over to the ol’ hunter for the guys that will actually drop upgrades for me. I think this will work, I don’t mind being saved on two toons to the same raid ID. I am pretty sure the guys I raid with won’t mind. It just seems like it is too easy. Does anybody have experience doing it this way? Is there any way it won’t work?

My goal this weekend is to get in a group (level appropriate) and tank some stuff to start getting some experience with the sword and the board. I am looking forward to this. I think I will also run around on my mage a little bit. She was a lot of fun, but I think it will be difficult to go from wanting everything to beat on me (no euphemism there) to avoiding everything to include falling leaves and tripping over my shoelaces. My Warlock is obviously a clothy, but she had pets and more importantly, she could tank like a champ with the gaining health frim Corruption.

Ok, this has gone on long enough and I have to get to work.

October 16, 2009 - Posted by | Hunter, Leveling, Ulduar, Ulduar Boss, Warlock, Warrior, World of Warcraft, WoW | , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Here’s the issue my guild encountered when we had no drops for mains off the first half of Ulduar.

    My main is a Prot Warrior with a pvp Arms offspec. Main Spec dpsers got first dibs at things like Ironsoul (2 handed mace off of Flame Leviathan), and I was perfectly fine with that.

    However, once we got to farm status, I still hadn’t got Ironsoul and other folks were bringing their alts in for Ironsoul. That’s not really fair to me, who had been raiding the entire time to get pushed to the back of the line because an alt would use it for main spec.

    So that is one issue that could arise. Should your alt get main spec dibs on loot that another raider’s main could use for off spec?

    The other issue is time. It takes time to switch characters. Not a lot of time, but when you are on a limited schedule like my raid is, every minute counts.

    No one can say what the answers to these issues are but you and your raid, but they are issues that should be thought about.

    As for Mimiron, he’s tough. The name of the game is survival, if you can get the majority of your raid to survive his gimmicks, you can take him down. He doesn’t hit very hard at all until his special abilities come into play.

    The good news is, once you get past him you get a break cause Vezax is quite a bit easier than Mim is.

    Comment by Randul the Dwarf | October 16, 2009


Leave a Reply

