That is Amazing (WoW)!

Things that interest me. Mostly video games.

Shared Topic at Blog Azeroth – Non-Healer View of Healers

This weeks Shared Topic at Blog Azeroth is Non-Healer View of Healers.

To start – I love Panzercow’s take. And thanks repgrind for pointing me to his site. I consequently told the lil’ lady (my wife, and 65 undead warrior, and all around noob ;)). She has now spent a lot of yesterday afternoon reading the site. Now I am making cold sandwiches for dinner….

Just kidding babe. Love you…now make me dinner.

Oh man, I am gonna get it.

Ok, on to the topic at hand.

I have a couple healer classes (pally, druid, priest), and have even thrown the occasional heal out there. But, I do not consider myself a healer. Therefore, I feel qualified to write this post as a non-healer.

In the army we have a saying – “Keep the supply guy happy, you will be happy.” And it is true. The same thing applies to the relationship I as a DPS have with my healers. That is the reason I keep ice traps in front of them even though it costs me mana. That is the reason I do not feign death if a healer is 3rd on the threat meter.

I like my heals. But here is the thing. And I can only talk about the healers that I run with. Even if I did FD and the mob bee-lined it to the healer, I am pretty sure, 75% of the time, I would end up getting some kind of heal thrown on me even though I was being a noob. Good healers are hard to find, when you find one, send him some golf balls, or her some flowers or something (but don’t stalk them). And make sure you tell them you are appreciative.

Oh, and for pete’s sake, if the healer has to release and walk back, so do you. Plain and simple. Contrariwise, if the healer does not have to walk back, don’t release.

And one more thing. Nothing makes me happier than rezing a healer with my Gnomish Army Knife.

Hunter Rez FTW!!

June 11, 2009 - Posted by | Blog Azeroth, World of Warcraft, WoW | , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. Hahaha. Sorry about the cold sandwiches, but I’m glad your wife is enjoying his site as much as I have. I’ve found prot warrior much to my liking. You see…I simply cannot play melee dps in a group. I have tried it. It feels unnatural to be behind the mob … but put me in front of them and tell me to make sure they’re all hitting me … yeah! I’ve tanked a bit on the old DK, and am looking forward to getting a chance to try it with the warrior. It just feels more… tanky … to be carting around a big shield than it does to be weilding a 2H.

    Comment by repgrind | June 11, 2009

  2. A non-healer’s (me) view of my favorite healer. She’s pretty hot. I love the sound of her voice. She’s been kind of cranky lately, but then she’s 9 months pregnant.

    Oh, she’s also my wife.

    Comment by Randul the Dwarf | June 11, 2009

  3. Oh please…like you ever make yourself something to eat around here! And just so everyone knows…he did get it 😉

    @ repgrind – thanks for the heads up to Panzercrow’s site. It’s perfect timing since I’m ready to respect prot and try to start tanking.

    Comment by Spankmeplz | June 11, 2009

  4. I told you guys I would get in trouble 🙂 Spankmeplz is my wife, in case you couldn’t tell.

    Comment by smart001 | June 12, 2009

  5. “Oh, and for pete’s sake, if the healer has to release and walk back, so do you. Plain and simple.”

    I’ve had people ask for a rez before, and generally I’m too kind to say no. But yes, if I’m running back, you should be too unless I offer up rez.

    Comment by Troutwort | June 12, 2009

  6. That said, there are situations where I don’t run back. For example, my paladin doesn’t have a flying mount yet, so when I’m tanking Naxx and a wipe is called, I’ll generally get to somewhere where I’m rezzable and DI a healer (or if none is available, just DI someone).

    Comment by velinath | June 16, 2009

  7. @ vel – that being said, I know you and your guild, and I am sure they understand since you have 3 toons you raid with in their guild (well 2.5). So yes, there will be exceptions, but the general rule should be what I said.

    Comment by Steven | June 16, 2009


Leave a Reply

