That is Amazing (WoW)!

Things that interest me. Mostly video games.

New Warlock Guide Love

An important part of playing this game is changing and or modifying strategies. That being said I will link two posts.

First This post is an affliction warlock grind guide that I wrote.

Second is from Arioch posting about leveling her priest. The most pertinent thing we need to take out of her post (in reference to this post) is

I’m using mouseover macros for all the healing.

/cast [target=mouseover,help] [] spell name

It’s awesome sauce. I could even toss off a wand shot every now and again since I never had to target any of my party members.

So I get to thinking. If she can mouseover for heals, why can’t I do it for destroying shit? The answer is…I can. And I will.

Here is what I did.

Step 1. Create two macros that look like this:

#showtooltip Corruption
/cast [target=mouseover,harm] Corruption

and

#showtooltip Curse of Agony
/cast [target=mouseover,harm] Curse of Agony

Step 2. Change your keybindings for your mouse button. MWD = the corruption macro, MWU = the CoA macro.

Step 3. Get DoTimers addon, configure it to show mouseover DOTs (thanks arioch BTW, for recommending a great addon)

Step 4. Grab as many mobs as you feel you can handle, continue following my last guide, except just hover your mouse over various mobs to see how the DOTs are ticking.

Step 5. Rinse and repeat. Over and over…its called a grind for a reason. 🙂

BTW, loving the lock. Sorry to the mage community out there. My mage is fun, but on hiatus for a little bit, just liking the lock too much.

Oh and quick tip, fel guard is a fine replacement for the succubus, he does a little less damage, but the mana bonus and dark pact pool are great. Also, try not to clip more than 1 tick from your CoA. It is best if you don’t clip it at all IMO. I also did some experimenting with the Imp again, this time adding the Fire Shield damage to the Imp’s damage to see if there was benefit. There was not. Though the Fire shield is cool to put on your tank I found out.

June 8, 2009 - Posted by | Guide, Macro, Warlock, World of Warcraft, WoW | , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. If I remember correctly the mouseover condition only applies to actual mob models, not unit frames. That makes raid healing tough, but I’ve found that the combination of Grid + Clique solves this. Adding Pitbull MT frames makes MT healing even easier since I don’t have to hunt through Grid frames to find the tanks.

    Comment by Sorcefire | June 8, 2009

  2. @ arioch – Haven’t had issues with the dead toons yet, but I will test it out tonight to see if I need to add the line. Prob wouldn’t hurt anyway. I will get to the mage, but I so want to raid with the lock now. Prob not as affliction though.

    @ sorcefire – I can mouseover on the target frame, I have not tried it for party frames or anything. But when a mob targets me, I can mouseover and MWD on the frame to cast corruption.

    Comment by smart001 | June 8, 2009


Leave a Reply

