That is Amazing (WoW)!

Things that interest me. Mostly video games.

Ok, so I lied…I am sorry

Ladies and Gentlemen, my sincere apologies for not contributing to the online phenomenon that is World of Warcraft Blogging for several days.

You may or may not know (or care) that I am currently on a business trip. The internet connection in my hotel bites, and I have been studying my ass off for my VB class. That has only left a little time for me to play. I think my mage got about 2 hours worth of attention last night, but the latency was so bad, pretty much nothing was accomplished.

Since I have not been playing much, there is not a lot to write about. Except the saga of the guilds. There has been a lot going on with my original guild and some others, I will articulate below.

My guild, as I stated in an earlier post, is kind of falling apart. There are a lot of good people in it, and I have a good time playing with all of them, we just don’t raid. And for a raiding guild, that is BAD.

We decided to merge with a guild that was recruiting. The guild that was picked (I had nothing to say in the matter), is a fairly well known guild, they have downed several bosses in Ulduar and were looking to advance their success to 25 man Ulduar. So we joined.

I raided 10 maly and 10 naxx with them. I quit after the second raid.

The original guild was an older more mature guild. There were some teen-agers, but mostly probably late 20s ish.

This guild…not so much, being in my late 20s as it is (it pains me to say it), I was not expecting a bunch of snot-nosed teenagers being rude to me and to other people in the guild. Seriously, they were a bunch of punks.

I left in an attempt to maintain my sanity, but in order to preserve the reputation of the original guild, I was very polite about it.

Turns out, a few days later, the entire original guild that merged with the second guild, all left and merged with a third guild. Meanwhile, I went and joined another guild. Man that is a lot of guilds.

The guild I joined is growing and is eager to start doing Ulduar and stuff.

Plus I know most of them from previous guilds, raids, etc…

I look forward to running around with them and seeing what we can do.

The lesson of this story is…

The average age of a guild is a big deal.

May 19, 2009 - Posted by | Guild, World of Warcraft, WoW | , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Totally agree. I’d pugged with some guilds that tried to get me to join, but there was so much childish behaviour in them …

    ok, so there’s plenty of shenanigans in Ashes, too, but there’s a huge difference between friendly goofing and idiotic immature behaviour. I’d rather be around cool people that have fun and want to raid but can’t … than be in an immature guild that does raid and have to deal with that kind of junk. Personally, I find that less enjoyable than not raiding at all.

    Comment by repgrind | May 20, 2009

  2. It seems the phenomenon transcends servers.

    Comment by smart001 | May 20, 2009


Leave a Reply

