That is Amazing (WoW)!

Things that interest me. Mostly video games.

Torn Asunder

I have been thinking about changing guilds for some time. The only reason I have yet to do so is because, well, I really like everyone in my current guild.

Maybe it is because I am in the military (IRL), maybe it is just my nature, but even though I don’t know most of these people in the real world, I find myself being very loyal to the guild I am in.

I joined the guild I am currently in after a hard breakup from my first guild (GM kind of abandoned us for the alliance side and everyone left).

Most of the people from my first guild ended up joining what was touted as a “progressive raiding guild”. It was made very clear at the very beginning, one alt is allowed in the guild, priority is raiding, if you sign up and don’t raid without a good reason, you are gone. It seems rough but we were there. We raided. We had fun. We progressed.

Well, that isn’t happening anymore. The guild has slid from progressive raiding to can’t even get a 5 man together. Now, there are a lot of reasons for this happening, a series of RL issues occurred to several of the most prominent raiders in the guild. Then when we stopped raiding, more of the prominent raiders left, now of the core group of raiders, there are about 5 of us left (used to be you had to fight for a 25 man slot). So I have been unhappy with my guild for a while.

A couple weeks ago (maybe a month) I told my new GM I was leaving. She talked me into staying. I told her I would give it a week, to see how the pugging went and if I could get into the raids I wanted to with a PUG. It has been several weeks and I am still not getting into the pugs I want. Mostly it is my fault. I do not feel I should have to PUG if I am in a raiding guild. I leveled my hunter to 80 so I could raid. I like my alts, but raiding is what I want to do. Well, an opportunity presented itself last night (or at least seemed to).

One of my buddies who I have been running with since the first day I started playing told me I should try out for his guild. Now, his guild is one of the top on our server, so, I immediately was a little intimidated, I have not filled out the application form, or signed up for their applicant raids. My concern over my ability to perform in their raids aside, I am more torn about leaving my seemingly dying guild.

So, I have the opportunity to raid with a top guild on Friday night and I am not sure if I will do it, because I am afraid of letting the guild I am in dye.

Problem is, I think it will die out anyway.

May 13, 2009 - Posted by | Guild, World of Warcraft, WoW | , ,

5 Comments »

  1. I like to think the survival of the human race depends on my being a part of it. that is a discussion for another type of blog though. 🙂

    Comment by smart001 | May 13, 2009

  2. Tough call. Reading my past posts you can see I went through much the same thing for the last 3-4 months while in my last guild. I finally couldn’t take it anymore and realized that I was having very little fun doing achievements and avoiding raiding.

    My problem wasn’t so much getting into raids as it was avoiding drama queens. It got so bad I didn’t even want to go anymore.

    Staying with your current guild has advantages. You’ll feel less guilt. But you’ll also become ever more unhappy with your situation as time goes on which will in turn make things worse in the end.

    I’d advise talking to your GM again and asking what’s being done to try and rectify the situation. Maybe a rally of recruiting can happen or a partnership with another guild. I know those things don’t always work, but sometimes they do. At least you can say you gave it a shot, but if nothing’s being done to fix things, I’d say get out.

    Comment by kyrilean | May 14, 2009

  3. I’ve always been in “friends” guilds, and never a raiding guild, so I don’t know exactly what it’s like to be in your shoes.

    I can tell you what happened with us though. We had about 6 people who wanted to raid on a regular basis. We wanted to do 10-mans, so we decided to start pugging the other 4 spots.

    We had a friend of the guild who we brought in, and we had another friend of the guild that we brought in who brought 2 others from his guild with him.

    The first friend of the guild lasted about 2 raids before he realized he was just like us and joined our guild.

    The second friend of the guild didn’t join us, but his two friends realized they were just like us and joined our guild.

    Since then we’ve had a couple of non-raiding guildmembers decide they wanted in on the fun and another friend who joined our guild when his fell apart.

    Moral of the story: Pug a few 10-mans with the core from your guild. If you are quality players, other quality players will find themselves drawn to your group.

    We went from 6 guildmates trying to do 10-mans to 12 guildmates trying to do 10-mans. So give it a shot and see what you can work out. Take the initiative to put a raid together yourself and see what happens.

    Comment by Randul the Dwarf | May 14, 2009

  4. Well, thanks for the advice. I think, for the time being, I am going to try-out for the other guild, and see what happens. If I get picked up I will leave, if not I will stay.

    Comment by smart001 | May 14, 2009


Leave a Reply

