That is Amazing (WoW)!

Things that interest me. Mostly video games.

Cuz that’s how I roll! (or: what I learned from rolling a mage)

FIRST OFF: THANKS EVERYONE. I AM ALREADY AT OVER 500 VISITS TO THE SITE. THANKS SO MUCH FOR READING.

(ok, now to the post)

This is going to be interesting.

I promise.

First: @ Velinath , Arioch, and everyone else who voted mage…Thanks. I would not have gone with the level one mage. But I am having fun now.

I am about 3 bubbles from level 18 (would be further along…will get to that later).

What have I learned?

First and foremost, my favorite rotation right now is Frostbolt+Arcane Missles+instant fire spell = dead mob every frigging time. I love it. Sorry I cannot remember the name of the instant fire spell, it is #6 on my keybind though.

I swear, firing arcane missiles will never, NEVER get old. I love the animation and the decimation it provides.

Just imagine, I am a Ghostpaw Lynx minding my own business suddenly my movement speed is decreased by 40% I…can…barely…move…what’s this? arcane missiles come barreling towards me…OMG move faster, move fastar, MOVE FASTAAAAR! I am dead.

See? Isn’t that cool? I have done that more times than I can count. I love it.

I received what I think is some sound advice, I specced frost. I will stay frost for the time being, though my understanding is frost is not the premier spec for raiding. But I am not worried about that for a while.

Once again, I love being a Blood Elf. The Ghostlands starting area is great. This is the third toon I have leveled through here and am comfortable with the quest circuits and such.

I cannot wait for level 20. Blink is gonna be SO FUCKING COOL!!!!! It will probably piss my wife the rogue off though.

I can single handedly take down up to 4 mobs at my level at the same time. When I was 18, my hunter could not do that. Freeze them to the ground, Arcane Explosion, Arcane Explosion, Arcane Explosion, a couple more times, bam, everything is dead. Sometimes I get over my head and have to pop a pot, but meh…its cool.

Arcane Torrent—Possibly the best racial ever. I cannot tell you how many times that 6% mana regen has saved my ass.

Enchanting and tailoring go really well with my mage. I make stuff, I wear it, I upgrade, I disenchant. Good times. Tailoring and enchanting are both over 100 now.

Conjuring my own food and water and food for my rogueish wife is amazing. I have made plenty of money selling food and water back to the vendor because I don’t need it.

Leveling with my wife, is not nearly as fast as leveling by myself. I do not mind one little bit though. I really like running around killing things with the ol’ lady.

I will have to take a break at level 20 to catch up with my secondary skills. I learned the hard way with my hunter. Stay on top of it. Cooking is great, fishing is great, First aid is imperative. Once I hit 20, I will probably spend at least 1 hour /played just leveling those three.

And last, but not least…MAGES ARE WORTHLESS WITHOUT MANA!!!111ELEVEN

May 12, 2009 - Posted by | Mage, World of Warcraft, WoW | , , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. I am really enjoying the rogue/mage dynamic. Especially since she is getting more and more confident in her playing.

    Arcane explosion is mana intensive. I am excited to try the blizzard thing, but I hit 20 last night, trained, then logged because it was late. I will try that little method tonight.

    Oh, BTW BLINK is AMAZING.

    I don’t remember what it is, but I did make myself a wand (poof, I’m a wand). I am trying to weave a little wandage into my grinding rotation to help conserve mana. I also have Evocation (I think that is what it is called) that will regen 60% of my mana channeled over several seconds. Like I said though, I have not really played with that too much either since I just trained it last night.

    Tonight will be an adventure. I cannot wait to Blizzard the shit out of some stuff.

    Comment by smart001 | May 13, 2009

  2. Mmmm…You didn’t have to level with Evocate being 300% of spirit based mana regen…lucky…

    Past that – Yeah, I’d recommend [url=http://automagica.blogspot.com/2008/08/frost-specs-zupa-style.html]Zupa’s post on frost grinding[/url] which might help. It’s not geared towards leveling specifically, but it’s easily adaptable. Just work towards the more important talents in the build, and practice that rotation as soon as you get Improved Blizzard.

    Comment by velinath | May 13, 2009

  3. hm, comment didn’t post.

    let’s see if I can make it work.

    I would take a look at the AoE frost grind spec/strategy over at http://automagica.blogspot.com/2008/08/frost-specs-zupa-style.html (used to be a nice formatted URL but the comment didn’t post). Once you get Improved Blizzard, it’s worth trying out.

    Comment by velinath | May 13, 2009

  4. I swear there was something else I was going to say but I totally forgot. Oh well.

    Comment by velinath | May 13, 2009

  5. Hmmm, i found your original comment, it was marked as spam.

    Comment by smart001 | May 15, 2009


Leave a Reply

