That is Amazing (WoW)!

Things that interest me. Mostly video games.

Back to the Outlands

Lots going on, as usual.

First, I added something probably pretty ambitious to my to-do list. I really want to get the opening of the AQ gates quest line done. I know our gates are already open, but the chain is going away in Cataclysm, and I want it done on at least one of my toons. Luckily, I have the week before Cata drops, to complete it. I think the Elementium Ingots are going to be hard to get, maybe a guild run through BWL (hint hint vel, if you still read this) will be in order. For the record, I had planned on doing this anyway, but it seems there will be a Feat of Strength attached to this come Cataclysm. Apparently the lore behind this quest line is absolutely amazing. Plus, what kind of cook would I be if I did not know the only epic cooking recipe in the game?

Image taken from the now retired http://sleepypriest.blogspot.com/.

As soon as I heard about the boss Anzu not needing to be summoned anymore, I wanted to go farm, what I think is the coolest looking mount in the game. Problem? Oh yeah, I am not honored with Lower City, so can’t get the heroic key to Setthek (sp?) Halls. ) I am not sure what the original location of this image is, it looks like mmochampions or something but, as I cannot access those sites from work, I poached it from the now retired sleepy priest).

Anyway, that means I have to do one of two things. Either farm instances for rep, or…OR quest.

My intent is to eventually get the Loremaster achievement, so I decided to start questing again. I figured, there would be minimal changes to Outlands, so might as well start there. For some reason, I figured the best way for me to get Lower City Rep was to grind Mag’har rep. Don’t ask me how that makes sense, but that is where I started. Thrall would be proud I think. Also, apparently the Mag’har have exalted me. So now I have all the Talbuks (except the PvP ones). Also, going for Nagrand Slam has left me 4 quests short. Which is really irritating. There are two I couldn’t do because I was already friendly with the Consortium, but that means there are still a few more quests out there I am not tracking. I think there is a chain after I do Shadowmoon Valley, but I won’t be getting to that one for a while.

After Nagrand, I decided to continue my Lower City Rep Grind by finishing Zangarmarsh for the Cenarian Expedition and Sporregar. Again, not really working out to getting LC rep, but whatever, the CE hippogriff is gorgeous. Once I finished the last few quests in Zangarmarsh, I read that there were several quests in Terrokar that gave rep. Fast Forward a bit, and I am now deep into revered with CE, and 64 of 68 in Terrokar. I have the last 4 quests, but was just too tired to finish them up. Now, and this is the important part, doing all the quests in Terrokar, has made me honored with LC. So, I did my first run of Setthek Halls on Heroic. Guess what did NOT drop. That’s right. Raven Lord Mount.

Oh well. It will drop eventually.

After Terrokar, I am going to Blades Edge, I have never quested there on any of my toons, so it should be fun, also there are a couple quest hubs that give rep with CE, so that should help the grind. I still need to farm Underbog a few times for Sanguine Hibiscus for Sporregar rep, but that is easy.

Oh, and speaking of soloing these heroics. I am really put off by the new Drums of the Wild. I like to go into these things buffed up and ready to go so I can pull, pull, pull. Drums of the Wild heals for 2k over 15 seconds? Sweet, sounds like less downtime for me (I do these all in Fury, and don’t have a lot of downtime anyway, but popping these drums would make it even less). Problem? Only usable by level 80, does not affect level 80 or higher. Huh? Let me read that again. Have to be level 80 to use, but won’t affect me if I am level 80? Wait a minute, that can’t be right. Let me use about 4 charges in disbelief while I test this out.

Yeah. So. That’s how that is, Drums of the Wild does not work on level 80 dudes. Very frustrating, the drums are pretty much worthless.

Ok, that’s enough for now.

November 16, 2010 - Posted by | Achievements, To-Do List, Warrior, World of Warcraft, WoW | , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Those require level 80 drums but don’t work on level 80 and above is the dumbest thing ever…I couldn’t figure that out at all, I kept reading it over thinking I was just confused. But yeah…dumb.

    Comment by Troutwort | November 16, 2010

  2. The last few you need for Nagrand require rep with the Aldor or Scryer. They will send you on a quest into SMV which then takes you back to Nagrand.

    When I was working on this on my human warlock I was stymied in getting the achievement until I found out where I had to go.

    Good luck sir! :)

    Comment by koalabear | November 16, 2010

  3. @ koalabear, thanks much. I am exalted with the Aldor, I will go figure out where the quest chain starts to shoot me into SMV. Really would like to get Nagrand off my list since it is sitting there with 4 quests left :(.

    Thanks

    @ Trout, I agree completely. I should put in a bug request so Blizz can tell me they are “working as intended”

    Comment by smart001 | November 18, 2010


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

