That is Amazing (WoW)!

Things that interest me. Mostly video games.

Achievements Galore!

So, I recently (or not so recently) decided Doomedcow the Warrior would be my main for cataclysm.

What does that mean?

It means, all the achievement hunting I did on my hunter is pretty much moot. As I want my main to have more points than my alt.

Hunter is at something like 5100 achievement points. Doomed, at the beginning of this weekend was at 4600ish. 500 points is a lot to make up. Especially in light of the fact I have a full raiding schedule and a family, and a full-time job.

I decided to start with the easy stuff and actually leveled my fishing beyond 50. Actually got him to 450 in only one day of fishing while playing with the kids and paying attention to the wife. All in all not a lot of work for a several achievements along the way. Picked up Northrend and Outland Angler while I was at it, as well as 1000 fish and all the achievements for the various levels of fishing. I also went into SSC and soloed the achievement for The Lurker Below. Notice I said achievement, not boss. That place would still be a bitch to clear solo, and actually, now that I am thinking about it, would be impossible to complete as Vasj needs at least 2 people. I am not even sure you could do it with 2.

Fishing up the boss actually was not as easy as I had anticipated. The fish in the water, still bite a fully T10 prot warrior for almost 800 each bite, and those fishies like to swarm. Sneaking past trash is also not super easy, being a huge friggin cow and all. After about 3 or 4 wipes i decided I was actually going to have to stategerize this. My plan was not to use any guides and figure out for myself exactly how I was going to make this work. I suppose I really should post a guide to this achievement, as any class would benefit from it. Except a priest, whose whole concern would be to cast levitate, fish, fade, and run. Silly priests.

I also maxed my cooking, which surprisingly only took a couple of hours from 71 to 450. Having maxed fishing really made this quite easy. The only issue I ran into was the fact that every goblin in Azeroth thinks i am a homicidal maniac, mostly because of my Bloodsail Admiral title. At 225 there is a quest you can pick up in Gadgetstan that will give recipes for getting your cooking to the magical 300ish mark. I traversed Eastern Kingdoms and Kalimidor on my druid (the more peace-loving toon) picking up recipes that allow me to fish and cook to level 320 or so, then off to Garadar for the last 4 recipes I needed. Once I hit 350, it was all cake. I still need to get the Northern Stew recipe though. By the way, anyone know why i didn’t get the Dalaran Cooking Award Achievement after I did my first cooking daily? It never popped, and I am irritated.

I threw in a few exploration achievements, and a couple old school dungeons while I was out exploring, topped it off with “the Hallowed” and I am now sitting at 5035. Not too bad for a casual weekend of playing.

In other news, I should get my 10 man drake from ICC tonight. Only have to kill heroic Rotface.

So excited.

 

October 26, 2010 - Posted by | Achievements, Warrior, World of Warcraft, WoW | , , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. I had posted a ticket for several issues I was having, this was one of them, they told me it is a known issue and they are working on it.

    Comment by smart001 | October 28, 2010


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

